World Cup

CWC 2019: Afghanistan world cup squad 2019

Afghanistan named fast bowler Hamid Hassan, who played for the team in July 2016, in his 15-man team for the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup on Monday.

Hassan, 31, played 32 one-day internationals (ODI) for the war-torn nation and was also part of Afghanistan’s first appearance at the 50th World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. four years.

“Luckily for us, the comeback of senior fast bowler Hamid Hassan is good news,” Afghanistan’s head of selection, Dawlat Ahmadzai, said in a statement. “However, we will take into account his form and physical condition during the next practice matches.”

Earlier this month, Afghanistan replaced the ODI captain, Asghar Afghan, for Gulbadin Naib as part of the changes in the team’s leadership structure in all formats. While several high-level players questioned the timing of leadership changes before the World Cup from May 30 to July 14, Afghanistan maintained its place in the squad.

The spinners are Afghanistan’s biggest stronghold, touted as the “dark horse,” and named three world-class slow bowlers specializing in Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi and Mujeeb Ur Rahman. Rashid, 20, is the highest ranked bowler in the shortest Twenty20 format and third on the bowling list for the over 50 format.

“It’s been a six-month preparation process for the ICC Cricket World Cup,” Ahmadzai said. “The mission is to play inspirational cricket in the tournament, I know there are strong teams, but we will do everything possible to achieve our goals.”

He added: “As head coach, it is my duty to select a competitive team, however, we had to face some challenges, we selected the best team taking into account factors such as experience, physical condition, team balance, current form and conditions. “We hope to play the great cricket without any fear and with a fighting spirit in the tournament.”

Wicketkeeper batter Ikram Ali Khil and rhythm duo Karim Janat and Sayed Shirzad were named reserve players for the team, which begins its campaign against Australia on June 1.


Gulbadin Naib (captain), Mohammad Shahzad (wicketkeeper), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *